Apollo Award

The Apollo Award, given each year since 1966, is presented by the St. Petersburg College Alumni Association to the outstanding associate degree graduate. Winners are chosen for their leadership, scholastic standing, community service, honors and awards.




2019 Apollo Award Recipient: Lorena Hmelas

Hmelas will receive an AA degree in Business Administration and Management and currently has a 4.0 GPA.

She has served roles in the Student Government Association as Vice President, Historian, Public Relations and Senator. She served as a member of the International Student Club, Latinos United, Phi Theta Kappa, Women on the Way and was a Student Assistant in the Associate Provost’s office on the St. Pete/Gibbs Campus.

Her accomplishments include the 2017 & 2018 Servant Leadership Award, 2017 Certificate of Completion of the Management and Supervision of Campus-Wide Student Government Association Skills, and a 2017 Letter of Recommendation from Then-SPC President Dr. Bill Law for her achievements in managing a budget that exceeded $239,000 and devotion to the Student Government Association.

Hmelas served her community as a volunteer for Habitat for Humanity, and through the Student Government Association, she collected food, books and toys for people in need and helped many homeless children learn to read and develop a love of books. She volunteered through Student Life and Leadership and Women on the Way to organize events and fundraisers.

She plans to transfer to the University of South Florida to eventually earn her master’s degree in Global Business. Her goal is to find a career that will combine both business and the different languages that she speaks, such as working at the UN or NATO.

“Without St. Petersburg College, I wouldn’t be where I am today and who I am today. This school has changed my life positively in so many ways, and what past year has taught me is that if I really want to accomplish something, I just have to work really hard for it.”

Applicants must have:

  • Graduated from SPC December of 2019 or will be graduating in May of 2020
  • Minimum GPA of 3.25
  • Demonstrated leadership qualities
  • Been involved in college activities
  • Participated in community service

Completed Application:

An application is complete and eligible for review when you have submitted the following documents.

  • A completed online application (click the “Apply Now” button below to access the application)
  • At least one, but not more than three, typed letters of recommendation
  • An official, sealed copy of your SPC transcript. To order your transcript, please visit: https://go.spcollege.edu/transcript. For faster delivery, request that the transcript be mailed to our address listed below. It can take a week or more to receive the transcript, please order it early.

Mailing Address
SPC Alumni Association
c/o St. Petersburg College Foundation
PO Box 13489
St. Petersburg, FL 33733-3489

To apply for an Apollo Award, please click the “apply now” button below. Applications for the 2019-2020 academic year will be accepted starting January 1, 2020. The deadline to apply is Thursday, February 6, 2020.

NOTE: Before you officially apply for the Apollo Award, we suggest that you select the ‘Apply Now’ button and download the questions to the application. Save your answers to a Word document and then transfer them into the application. Once you start the application, you will not have the opportunity to save the application and return at a later date/time.

Apollo Award Recipients

1960 – 1969
1966 – William A. Neron
1967 – Harvey R. Johnson
1968 – Elizabeth Ann McGee
1969 – Rory Anne Stott
1970 – 1979
1970 – Linda W. Lyons
1971 – Connie Baxter
1972 – Michael McGarry
1973 – Jeff Starr
1974 – Walter Moon III
1975 – Barbara Lasater
1976 – Christine Tsotsos
1977 – Jerald Carlson
1978 – Pamela Ann Moser
1979 – Carol Lynn Smith
1980 – 1989
1980 – Stephen Charles Luben
1981 – Patricia M. Carroll
1982 – Diane Sue Fleming
1983 – Darlene Louise Barr
1984 – Tonya Scott Amankwatia
1985 – David Michael McKalip
1986 – Stephen Robert Cooley
1987 – Carl Henry Heidenreich
1988 – Hazel Ann Creveling
1989 – Penethia “Psalms” Mack
1990 – 1999
1990 – Gregory H. Elam
1991 – Alfredo E. Barquin
1992 – Anne Marie Ertsgaard
1993 – Michelle Ruth Piccione
1994 – Joseph Hale
1995 – Jon Derek Lawler
1996 – Linda Diane Chase
1997 – Margaret Mary Revette
1998 – Robert Antonio Wright Sr.
1999 – Novelle Burney
2000 – 2009
2000 – Matthew Jay Stinson
2001 – Lee Palmer
2002 – Anthony Michael Priestas
2003 – Xudan Chen
2004 – Rode Louisa
2005 – Jean Barritt Welch
2006 – Aeisha Y. Perez
2007 – Kaitlin Dawn Reif
2008 – Adam Goch
2009 – Melinda Thackrah
2010 – 2019
2010 – Samantha Mitchell
2011 – Nhi Do
2012 – Alistair Glover
2013 – Brandon Fong
2014 – Oldrin Bataku
2015 – Amy Bhatt
2016 – Courtney Kent
2017 – Theodore Martin, Jr.
2018 – Joey Bower
2019 – Lorena Hmelas